RSS
Reviews For Solum Patriae

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: BiteMeTechie (Anonymous)
15 Oct 2007 5:58 am
As an official representative of the Skiffy Awards, it is my pleasure to inform you that you've been nominated! See the following links for more information!

Skiffy Awards Website: http://www.freewebs.com/skiffyawards

Skiffy Awards Live Journal: http://community.livejournal.com/skiffy_awards
Vita Ante Acta
Reviewer: dolarabee (Signed)
12 Feb 2007 12:01 am
A nice accompanying piece to the first one. More to come?
Spirit of Place
Reviewer: dolarabee (Signed)
12 Feb 2007 12:00 am
A definite favourite of mine. Thank you for helping flesh out Ronon Dex.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
30 Dec 2006 8:48 pm
I loved the voice of this piece, and how the gaen was able to help Rodney get the rest he needed. The creatures there and the names they gave them cracked me up. This gave even more reason of how important a part of his homeworld is to Ronon. The idea that Atlantis is all of theirs home, is really sweet.
Spirit of Place
Reviewer: neil F (Anonymous)
26 Dec 2006 7:40 am
classy very smooth writing and in the shortness alot of detail that I want to experiance from an imaginary world aka sateda, only I want more from a storey in ronan`s prior history around the campfire, cheer`s
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: luvsciencegeeks (Signed)
03 Dec 2006 12:13 am
You've caught the essence of human growth from childhood to adulthood, how we store and associate our memories (scent, music, taste, etc.), how we deal with stress and loss and changes in expectations--and you've done it with outstanding characterization and lyrical prose. Excellent job with this. I loved it.
Spirit of Place
Reviewer: lizvogel (Signed)
20 Nov 2006 1:56 am
I love the way you use scents to make the descriptions more real. And Ronon not wanting to see Atlantis without the Earth tech cluttering it up, is terrific.
Spirit of Place
Reviewer: lizvogel (Signed)
20 Nov 2006 1:34 am
This? Was good. Nice job of exploring some of Ronon's depths while still keeping him (and the rest of the gang) in character, taciturn and all. Gaen sounds neat. Wish I could smell it in person.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Laughing Magpie (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2006 2:21 pm
This has a lovely, quiet power to it. Lyrical yet simple in the writing, very evocative. Wonderful characterizations and one of the best Ronon stories I've ever read. The concept is truly beautiful (reminds me of immigrants who used to carry small containers of their native soil with them.) And your treatment of the Ancients (and the Latin connection/usage a nice touch there) was also nicely done. This one's just right, Goldilocks! Thank you for sharing this.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Mice (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2006 3:49 am
I've really enjoyed both these stories. I love the vision of Satedan society you've painted in them, and the way it makes us reexamine Ronon as a character. Thank you.
Spirit of Place
Reviewer: kribby (Anonymous)
17 Nov 2006 3:39 am
excellent work!
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: SireesAnwar (Anonymous)
18 Sep 2006 7:00 pm
That was great. It was so sweet and it made me want to cry... but it was beautiful. I loved when Rodney asked Ronon if he'd gone feral... that was great.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: imskysmom (Anonymous)
18 Sep 2006 4:39 pm
That brought tears and chills. Lovely in the very composed passionate way that is Ronon.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Lacenire (Anonymous)
18 Sep 2006 4:32 pm
Hey, this was really very enjoyable to read, loved the team bonding!
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Keegan (Signed)
18 Sep 2006 6:33 am
Just... perfectly powerful. Thank you for this beautiful tale.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Anonymous)
17 Sep 2006 11:55 pm
This is a powerful, inventive, and softly bittersweet tale that has everything of the good and nothing of the sappy or overwrought in it. The imagery is beautiful, the characterizations spot-on, but what makes this story are the creations and the details--the gaen, the gaen-ecs, etc. Wonderful, just absolutely wonderful! Bravo!
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Martha (Anonymous)
17 Sep 2006 10:26 pm
This just broke me, in so many ways. Beautiful, just beautiful. Words fail me, thank God they didn't fail you. A gut punch, in all the right ways. Thank you for writing and sharing, hope to see more. Lots more.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Wallaby_55 (Signed)
17 Sep 2006 9:10 pm
This is simply gorgeous, gen in the best kind of way, all about the team and how they function together. Your charactarization is spot-on and I love getting this glimpse of Ronon.
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Silverthreads (Anonymous)
17 Sep 2006 5:46 pm
Excellent tale
Solum Patriae
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
17 Sep 2006 3:00 pm
Very touching story. Boy was his team a pain just because he was trying to keep something a secret. I almost wish they had apologized, but oh well. The gaen was a really interesting concept, and well described. This was fun.
Solum Patriae
You must login (register) to review.