RSS
Reviews For Balcony Sessions

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: somnio_enormis (Anonymous)
22 Sep 2005 9:41 pm
Oh, I am so glad this ended well. I have to admit for a while I couldn't imagine a happy ending, but there it was. Well, more hopeful than happy. This was a wonderful fic.
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: cjandre (Anonymous)
10 Sep 2005 9:31 pm
I liked the series and really enjoyed the slow development of John and Rodney's relationship. The style of the longer stories with their recurring themes was especially well done. I hate to see the series end!
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
09 Sep 2005 9:21 pm
I decided to reread the earlier chapters to refresh my memory, so I've just finished reading this from start to finish. I know I've reviewed at least once before, so I may end up repeating myself, but this is just such a brilliant story, especially for a first attempt (at least when it began *g*). The various plots were exciting, and alarming in parts. I enjoyed how you tied the episodes into it, but also had your own missions, with their own perilous results for John and Rodney both...Still, it gave them ample opportunity to worry over each other :). I loved how the kept retreating to balconies to be alone, but often ended up finding the other one there already. Plainly meant for each other ;). All the characterisations were spot-on, especially John and Rodney's (not really surprising considering it was about them). They're really quite similar in their reactions, both so very insecure and afraid at times that it's painful to see. I'm really impressed by the way you caught their professional and personal selves. We all expect Rodney to be the arrogant genius and John the laconic flyboy, teasing and bantering with each other, and you did that excellently. But the real tour de force was the real them underneath the facades. Rodney flitting between desire for and anger at John, but never losing the concern and worry for him even as he pushed Rodney away so hurtfully. So sad when John shut him out and not willing to let him back in again once John had decided that he wanted Rodney. I could understand his reasons even as I wanted to shake some sense into him. I had the same conflicting feelings for John when he freaked and pushed Rodney away, making them both so miserable, but not knowing how to fix it. Both times he thought he'd killed Rodney, you really caught his shock, guilt, horror and self loathing. I was pleased that they started to mend the bridges, and finally seemed to have got it at the end there. The ending was full of hope; they reached an understanding and Rodney was willing to be patient for John. I'm happily imagining John coming to terms with their relationship quite quickly now they've actually had a talk about stuff. Great story, I'm going to have to add it to my favourites :). Laura.
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: Dr. Dredd (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2005 6:05 pm
Oh, excellent. Wonderful character interactions, with just the right balance between sweetness and snark. ("Cicada from hell", LOL) Don't know how I missed this earlier, but I'm reading now!
Being Brave
Reviewer: custardpringle (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2005 2:43 pm
Fwahaha, 'tis me again because you are STILL GOOD *smacks your undersized ego* and wait, wasn't there a bit involving Ronon? Or is the caffeine getting me again?
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: Amalthia (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2005 1:51 pm
This was fantastic. :) Lovely lovely way to end the series. :) thanks so much for sharing.
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: fanficaddict (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2005 10:48 am
*standing ovation and wild cheering* Awesome! It's funny but I was at your site just last night looking to see if there were any new stories hehe I can't believe the series is over *sigh* excellent ending though :hugs: Thanks for the wild emotional roller coaster ride!
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: Marina (Anonymous)
08 Sep 2005 7:54 am
Wow! I started to read the series a while ago, and thought "Nadir" was the last chapter and that was kinda sad because I really wanted to see Rodney & John to work everything out. And now, by luck, I found this final chapter and let me tell you, it is beyond brilliant, I loved it so much. Thanks!
A Little Bit Like Hope
Reviewer: Scribewraith (Signed)
08 Sep 2005 7:31 am
This whole series is just amazing but I wanted to say how much I really enjoyed Chapter 4 and 5. Four is fantastic with the interspersed memories and Rodney's fear. Five is just perfect. I love the way that they resorted to fighting it just seemed so in character and the anger so real. Very cool story!
Some Kind of Truth
Reviewer: Kam (Anonymous)
27 Aug 2005 7:39 pm
What everyone else said. Looking forward to more from you SOON. :D
Nadir
Reviewer: stellahobbit (Anonymous)
01 Aug 2005 4:52 am
I know I'm reading a fabulous story when I get that tingly feeling in my chest and my heart aches for a second. I got that when I read this - "Don't get too excited," John said, still smiling, "doesn't mean I *like* you, or anything." Rodney's smile froze. For a second John thought he looked almost stricken, like John had just hit him instead of making a joke, but it was gone so fast he wasn't sure he'd seen it at all. Ouch! And yay! I'm off to read the other chapters.
Being Brave
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Anonymous)
17 Mar 2005 9:07 pm
This series is so great! I really love the characterisations, especially John and Rodney. You really portray their feelings for each other so well, and also their reactions to these feelings. The fact that John is so obviously scared about his feelings, and Rodney is so sure that John will leave him if he lets a relationship start, really comes across...and makes me sad :(. There's hope now though, if the last scene with all the revealing of faith is anything to go by. I've enjoyed the bits of backstory you've given Rodney, and the 'Ghost Sumner' revealed a lot about Sheppard too. I like that during all this character insight, you've also managed to keep up a steady stream of banter and several instances of peril. The medical research you've done, and help you've had, really enhances the story. It rams home just how close some of these calls have been- John's fever, and Wraith-cat-thing poison episodes spring to mind, as does Rodney's hypoglycaemic shock. I really hope that things start to get better now. Laura.
Nadir
Reviewer: TheAllSeeingEye (Anonymous)
10 Mar 2005 8:36 am
As a recent (and voracious) fanfic fanatic, these 6 episodes are, quite possibly, the best pieces of fanfic I have ever read. You've given John so much more depth of emotion than I ever would have anticipated him capable of. I also found the McKay episode with him jumping backward and forward to pivotal moments in his life to be so incredibly vivid, I could almost feel the chill of the rainstorm and hear the thunder. Get yourself a good agent for that book, and let us know when it hits the shelves. And, though I dread getting to the end of this story, keep em coming!!
Nadir
Reviewer: kbk (Anonymous)
22 Feb 2005 6:44 pm
Damn, woman! This is fine, fine work. The interactions and miscommunications and oh lord the pain. Chapter four, especially, I thought was fantastic, the way you braided together the plot and the pieces of backstory, wow. I have issues with the internalized-homophobia-storyline, but you're handling it well, and I want to see more, dammit. (please don't hurt them any more, I'll be good, I promise...)
Being Brave
Reviewer: ikswo (Anonymous)
24 Jan 2005 1:53 pm
oh, yay! the emotions of theis piece are so real! please continue! i can't wait to see if they survive and if john keeps his word
Nadir
Reviewer: Jessica (Anonymous)
23 Jan 2005 10:17 pm
This story is very touching. The awe in John's voice about the dream Rodney had, was beautiful.
Nadir
Reviewer: ikswo (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2004 11:57 pm
wow. that was very emotional. the first part was great but the last few chapters were definately the best and hardest to read in the sense that i just wanted to skip to the end and make sure it all ended up okay. now i have to go read something humorous or i just might cry. ^ ^ thank you for writing this!
Some Kind of Truth
Reviewer: anonreader (Anonymous)
17 Dec 2004 12:19 am
This story is full of heartache and emotion. Thanks for continuing on with this.
Some Kind of Truth
Reviewer: anonreader (Anonymous)
09 Dec 2004 1:29 am
This is the end? It was really good, but it seems unfinished. After all that, John just kisses Rodney goodbye? No afterthoughts from either character?
Acts of Enormity
You must login (register) to review.