RSS
Reviews For The Cold Year

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: Miso no Tsuki (Signed)
12 Oct 2006 6:24 pm
This is fascinating! The sentence structure should make it bitty but it holds together to make a coherent whole! Blindingly good stuff! :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I was worried about the fic not making sense, or annoying people with how fragmentary it is, but that it worked... Yay! Am happy writer.
Reviewer: ceitie (Anonymous)
12 Oct 2006 4:43 pm
This is amazing, the whole story sort of woven together from bits and pieces, never quite explaining everything, but just a sense of cold and desperation and the hard everyday things. And hope, at the end.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! A movie once told me "There is always hope," which, wretched romantic that I am, I believe :) Also, I think if I'd tried to write this out in full, classic-style, I might have depressed myself *wry look*
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
12 Oct 2006 3:27 am
I love this. The way they are walking the line of so many things: death, madness, infidelity...and yet hold it all together somehow. Excellent.
Reviewer: scififreak (Anonymous)
12 Oct 2006 3:25 am
I love this. The way they are walking the line of so many things: death, madness, infidelity...and yet hold it all together somehow. Excellent.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! Glad you liked it :)
Reviewer: Alynna (Signed)
12 Oct 2006 2:04 am
Yeah, Wow is right. I love the way John and Rodney teeter on the edge of an end to their relationship, and then find their way back to solid ground. Very nice.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm maybe a romantic at heart, but I believe in my boys being together. Of course, I will give them hell in exchange for the right to be happy, but they *will* be together :)
Reviewer: SylvanWitch (Anonymous)
11 Oct 2006 11:56 pm
This is so incredibly powerful, perhaps because you use so many images, perhaps because it involves some piecing together, some imagining the spaces in between, perhaps because it's brilliant, just f***ing brilliant. Bravo!

Author's Response: Awr, thank you! Writing the fic like this kept a lot of it fresh, I think... No chance to overthink anything, or dull the edge of the good, sharp stuff. Which I tend to do if I obsess.
Reviewer: Pranksta (Anonymous)
11 Oct 2006 8:37 pm
That's very, very impressive. A few words, all inteconnected through short sentences and wow. No, really, wow.

Author's Response: *blush* Thank you so much! Glad you like it :)
Reviewer: Scruffy (Signed)
11 Oct 2006 5:41 pm
If that's what you consider not coherent, I'd love to see something you think is! It was really, really good!

Author's Response: Heh heh :) Thank you! Very little of my writing makes sense to me, sometimes less so than at others... This story, at any rate, does proceed linearly, but it's mostly flashes of vaguely-connected stuff, nothing fully realized in the usual sense of the word. Still, I kind of like it that way :)
Reviewer: Dee (Anonymous)
11 Oct 2006 5:31 pm
As dark as this is I really like it. Its an interesting way of telling a story, but it seems to work. Nice Job!

Author's Response: Thanks! The challenge was quite interesting, and worked out well in that I didn't know if I could make the fully-developed universe work. I kind of like the hints at it, like I didn't quite figure it out for myself, even.
Reviewer: klostes (Anonymous)
11 Oct 2006 5:22 pm
The spareness of the challenge requirements really work for this story; it's very evocative and I think all the more powerful because it's not explaining everything for us. The journey, from optimism to pessimism to just hanging on to the ending is perfect, too. And I like the implication that Rodney's distracting himself with Carson and almost blows them up because he's too far away from where he's needed.

Author's Response: Thank you! The 1fandom challenge was the first time I've tried something like that, and I'm happy it worked out so well--and that the story/universe makes sense :)
You must login (register) to review.