RSS
Reviews For Rising Above

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: marlislash (Signed)
16 Feb 2009 4:34 am
it's so hard, poor john, i so sad for him and for rodney, damn sarcophagus, hope a happy end but i don't think so.
thanks for this new chapter.

Author's Response: You're so kind to keep reading. Actually the next chapter will have a happy ending, and probably the one and only happy ending I'll ever right. Thanks for reviewing!
Chapter 27 - Not a happy ending
Reviewer: snarkysci (Signed)
15 Feb 2009 10:52 pm
Yea more! I really like this story and how you work their emotions. I do have a question the last part title said part 26 now it has part 29 is that just an error or is something missing? Thanks and I look forward to more as soon as you write it.

Author's Response: Yes, you are correct. Because of the prologue, the chapters are one behind the title of the chapters, and I went back and fixed the chapter names. I don't know how I got off track, but thanks fore letting me know. I am so glad that you are enjoying the story. I hope you like the next chapters too!
Chapter 27 - Not a happy ending
Reviewer: Becs (Signed)
15 Feb 2009 6:16 pm
And the plot thickens!

Author's Response: That seems to be my never-ending theme. Thanks for reviewing!
Chapter 27 - Not a happy ending
Reviewer: verityblaze (Anonymous)
20 Jan 2009 8:33 pm
Geeze! Ya left poor John hanging there in the middle of a nervous breakdown during sex. Please. What comes next? Personally I am hoping Rodney gets to do some psycho bitch-slapping of his own soon. Now you got me hooked on the saga you can't just leave our heroes in in coital depression before they even pull out. That's just mean! Hope you find time for another chapter soon

Author's Response: Nervous break down during sex, aaahhh *Drools*. Yeah that chapter was getting too long, so i had to chop it into two. Your review is so awesome. i do hope that you like the second part of that scene. Thank you so much for reading and enjoying!
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
13 Jan 2009 1:08 am
I'm so glad you haven't given up on this story. I go away a bit to let the chapters add up and now I've caught up and I'm once more on edge...what happens next. Can they work it out, can Rodney finaly have the brains we know he has and get over Carter? Will he get his kids back? Please don't take too long between chapters.

Author's Response: Good to see your name Mystic. The Carter issue will get better, get worse, and then really worse. Are you kidding? I won't make these characters happy until I make someone reading this story have a nervous break down. The next chapter has been added, but I'm waiting for approval. Hope to see more of your reviews soon!
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Marci (Anonymous)
12 Jan 2009 12:05 pm
OMG! It just keeps getting better, I am always happy when you update because I know its going to stunning. I can't wait for the next chapter! As evil as John has been I just can't help but feel for him and that is because of your skill as a writer. This story has become my crack!

Author's Response: Stunning? Wow, that is a big compliment. Thank you. I get to the next chapter as fast as I can, but obviously that is not soon enough. I never set out to make John the character everyone would follow, but it seems the muse thought otherwise. I am so excited that you feel for him, or any of the characters for that matter. I am super duper happy to hear that I have got you addicted to this fic. That is so kind of you to say. Hope you like the new chapters. By the way, anyone is invited to email me and get previews of the new chapters I'm working on. Your input is always appreciated. Thank you!
Prologue
Reviewer: entropy_maximum (Signed)
11 Jan 2009 10:05 pm
OMG! What else can I possibly say to that?

Author's Response: Aww, you are too kind. Thanks a million for the review!
Chapter 26
Reviewer: cookiemom6067 (Signed)
11 Jan 2009 6:52 pm
WOW, Susan - great chapter. I love where you're taking John and Rodney right now.

Author's Response: Thanks cookiemom, I do look forward to hearing from you. Hope RL doesn't keep bothering you so much!
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Louise (Anonymous)
11 Jan 2009 11:10 am
Wow, I've been following this story for ages now and I'm so glad you've updated! I can't wait for the next chapter, guilty!Sheppard is one of my favourites! Love the story!

Author's Response: I am sorry that it has taken ages, but I am so glad that you have been entertained enough to keep following. I am honestly not a huge fan on guilty!Sheppard, but so cool that I can write him well enough for you to enjoy! Thank you for the review.
Prologue
Reviewer: marlislash (Signed)
11 Jan 2009 10:17 am
yep, it's a christmas gift in january a new part of your fic.
poor john, yes i say poor john, he make me sad, he lost, i hope rodney hang on him.
Thanks.

Author's Response: LOL! thanks so freaking much for the review. It spurs me on to write more. Glad you are enjoying what the characters are going through.
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Angie (Anonymous)
11 Jan 2009 10:03 am
I'm so conflicted. I want to hate John but at the same time he's a victim too. So does his sudden attack of conscience mean that John himself is weening off the unas drugs?

Author's Response: Yes. It is hard enough to write conflict, but to know that I have caused conflict in you, thanks for the compliment! I hope you like the future episodes.
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Cheryl (Anonymous)
11 Jan 2009 8:48 am
More please, please, please. I keep waiting and waiting. This story is so compeling.

Author's Response: Of course more, always. The delay is in getting chapters betaed (Ciar is awesome!!!), waiting for the archivists to post it, typing it up from my notebook, and finding time for fic and homework. Thank you so much for enjoying! is there anything in particular that you liked most?
Chapter 26
Reviewer: Satisfied Reader (Anonymous)
18 Nov 2008 1:17 pm
Really enjoyed this chapter, so glad you updated.

You pulled off a tough one, you made Katie do something nasty but she did it with class. You made me understand her reasons for wanting Rodney to stay away from the family and you made me believe she was doing it to protect the kids (although I think part of her is disgusted by what Rodney is doing with Sheppard too).

As for Sheppard, he seems to be changing and it's intriguing me :) I'm noticing that Rodney doesn't quite believe in the changes but at the same time he seems to be falling for John a little more each time we see them together. As much as I enjoyed evil Sheppard, this new Sheppard is great - he's like the best of both worlds.

I also love the way that even though life is really crap for Rodney he will keep fighting back, he is still essentially Rodney McKay even though he's from a different universe. Rodney is not afraid to tell Sheppard how he feels about him manipulating his life, Rodney is not reluctant to tell Katie that she shouldn't penalize him because what he's done with Sheppard he's done for their family. Rodney is a 'Maple' in this verse, so does that mean that he automatically has no visitation or custody rights if Katie chooses to deny them?

I'm loving this angsty story, I love it when you put Rodney through the grinder but he comes back fighting each time and each time it seems like he gets a bit more control back from Sheppard too because Sheppard is seeing Rodney for what he's worth.

I really want to see a positive ending for Rodney and Sheppard but I want it to be in keeping with the style of this universe you've created, nothing sappy or unrealistic given the verse. Maybe Rodney convinces Sheppard to escape to Atlantis with him (and the nicer people from the mountain)? I don't think Sheppard has to become a saint just because he's not using the Sarcophagus anymore, he can still be possessive and toppy and Rodney can enjoy it even more because there's no cruelty involved.

Author's Response: I cannot tell you how awesome it is to see a review so detailed and long! I honestly don't think people pay that much attention to what I write, so now that I do know, I will strive to keep all those little details straight. I am taken aback to see someone so interested to write an essay. I did want to keep Rodney and Katie together, but I had so many people as for me to get rid of her, and my subconscious did so. She is not evil, but broken marriages are ugly things. She still might keep the kids from Rodney, but obviously she'd be using John's money to get a lawyer, so legally, she may not get far. I also like how Rodney comes back stronger each time and how he falls harder for John each time as well. I hope you like 30! Thanks again for the review, and I really hope you are just as satisfied with the new chapters.
Chapter 25: The Zoo
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
16 Nov 2008 6:17 pm
Poor Rodney and Sheppard really needs to be flattened.

Author's Response: What a loyal customer. You've been following for a while now. Thanks! Yes, Sheppard is a bastard. I can't wait to hear what you think of 28!
Chapter 25: The Zoo
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
16 Nov 2008 2:24 pm
ACK!! what a bitch! poor Rodders going through all that and her undying support is to throw him out? Sheesh.
Hope the next chapter is soonish :)

Author's Response: I origninally wanted Katie to stay with Rodney longer and be more simpathetic, but what would you do in a situation like that with your kids being exposed Evil!Sheppard? And Rodney is spending a lot of time away from the family anyway. No, you're right, she is a bitch! Thank you so much for following the story! Many, many thanks for the review.
Chapter 25: The Zoo
Reviewer: stargate_beaver (Anonymous)
01 Nov 2008 12:46 am
I just wanted to tell you how much I am enjoying this story. I love evil Sheppard and you write him very well.

Author's Response: Uh, tanx, tanx! I really appreciate your kind review. Who doesn't like Evil!Sheppard and Abused!Rodney? That is really cool that you went out of your way to review the fic. Thanks again!
Chapter 24
Reviewer: Elisa (Anonymous)
30 Oct 2008 9:25 am
Oh, I'm so glad to see another chapter posted!! Loving this story. Off to read the next chapter.

Author's Response: Wow! You like it so much you reviewed even before you read it! Wow, thanks a lot! It's reviews like this that make me write fic in dark corners of classrooms when I should be learning.
Chapter 23
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
28 Oct 2008 11:29 pm
I haven't read the latest chapter yet (and I'm sure it'll be good!) but I just wanted to say how glad I am that you're updating it again.

Ok, off to read now :-)

Author's Response: Wow! You like it so much you reviewed even before you read it! Wow, thanks a lot! It's reviews like this that make me write fic in dark corners of classrooms when I should be learning.
Chapter 24
Reviewer: Haggy (Signed)
28 Oct 2008 6:27 pm
well that wasn't too terrible and Rodney has tickets to the zoo as well. Sam though me thinks she's a bit dangerous.

Author's Response: Never underestimate a blonde scientist with large breasts.
Chapter 24
Reviewer: B_C (Anonymous)
27 Oct 2008 11:04 pm
This is getting messy and interesting. :)

Author's Response: So happy you're still keeping up on Rising Above. Thanks muchos for the review!
Chapter 24
You must login (register) to review.