RSS
Reviews For Rising Above

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: hunterofshadow (Signed)
27 Oct 2008 5:19 pm
Yay! You posted more *glee* I totally love you right now! Thank you so much - awesome as usual :D

Author's Response: Aww, you are too nice. I am so glad that you liked this chapter. Every once in a while I go back and read the old chapters, and I have a hard time believe my fic is any good, but then I get totally enthralled in the plot. I am glad these last two chapters came up to your standards.
Chapter 24
Reviewer: Satisfied Reader (Anonymous)
27 Oct 2008 4:30 pm
You wrote more!! I'm so glad to see two new chapters; I love this verse and this fic. It's amazing how complex you make this story: it has kink, it has romance, it has dangerous office politics, it has SF, and it has characters that I'm interested in finding out more about. You're doing a great job of combining it all together.

I love the fact that Rodney is so confused by his feelings and emotions, he's running away from how he feels about John and so he goes straight to Sam to try and bury his feelings for John (and about his growing positive reactions to John) in sex with her, he doesn't want to admit that he's falling for John, he thinks having sex with Sam will make him 'normal' again - oh how wrong he is LOL (I hope).

Rodney's also in complete denial about how badly wrong his relationship with Katie is going. I love reading your oblivious Rodney in turmoil, it's so cool to see him struggling against a cruel world. I can't wait to read all about the melt-down of his marriage - as you say, Katie and Rodney were not suited in canon and I think you've captured their unsuitability in this fic well too.

I also love the fact that John is being a shade nicer but still controlling, kinky and expecting Rodney to fulfil his every whim, John seems very attached to and possessive of Rodney and I really like how you're expressing that in subtle, small ways. That's some good characterisation there - you are cleverly making John a character with depth rather than a cardboard cutout bad guy :)

Author's Response: You are far too nice, but I am extremely happy that you are enjoying and are following the story. If I could I would totally stay home and write fic all day, but alas, somehow I have to pay for food. I'm really glad that Rodney's inability to read his own feelings about John are really coming through to you readers out there. These chapters are all the setups for the angstiest chapter of all where John and Rodney start to realize that they both have feelings for each other. Cookiemom once suggested that Katie would stay with Rodney for the sake of feeding the kids and still be satisfied to stay married to Rodney, but the further I get in the story, and the more Sheppard antagonizes the family, I think she would want to be seperated from Rodney. Again, each character decides where he/she wants to go as I write each chapter. I have a plot idea for the fic, but the characters have lives of their own. Evil!Sheppard is a flat, cardboard cut out evil villian, but I hope to show that, as the effects of the sarcophagus (sp?) wear off, more of John, the character we all know so well, will be able to relate to Rodney. This story was designed to be an angst fic from Rodney's pov, but slowly John is finding a way to come out of his evilness. Thank you a zillion for the lengthy review! So glad you are enjoying!
Chapter 23
Reviewer: marie (Anonymous)
05 Oct 2008 8:58 am
it's so amazing, i love this univers, it's creepy and sexy by the same time, need a to be continued, don't leave us like that !

Author's Response: Pets your head. No, no, no. I will not leave until the job is done. It just might take forever. Sorry.
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Anonymous Sister of the Author (Signed)
26 Sep 2008 11:07 pm
well, this is a turn-around... all the emotions are getting confusing... UPDATE SOON PLEASE!!!

Author's Response: sorry that the emotions are confusing. I will work hard on clearing up as much as I can. Again, sorry that new chapters didn't get posted until October. I am so glad that you are enjoying!
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: paraka (Anonymous)
22 Jun 2008 11:39 pm
I really should have commented sooner, but I just wanted to let you know that I'm really loving this fic. I love the dubious consent issues, and how Rodney is beginning to like John. I find it really hot, and I can't wait to see how it ends!

Author's Response: The end is far away in that distand horizon yonder, but thank you so freaking much for enjoying my fic. I wanted to write a story I would like, and I am so please that you are enjoying the same things I am!
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Leslie Davis (Anonymous)
12 Mar 2008 11:38 pm
Twisted, but oh so good. Can't wait for the next chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! And thanks for the review.
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Angela (Anonymous)
12 Mar 2008 11:38 pm
It's odd, on one hand I really really REALLY hate sheppard...but then he has moments of almost sweetness.

Author's Response: Aww, glad that that character trait came through. He is supposed to be the evil arch anti-hero with no real characterization, but when the effects of the sarcophogus wear off, that is when you can see glimpses of the real John Sheppard. Glad that you are seeing that.
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
12 Mar 2008 7:29 pm
I repeat what I told you before: this is amazing, and I still loves it.

Author's Response: Thank you!
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Cuimhne (Anonymous)
12 Mar 2008 5:58 pm
What's this? New chapters?! Yay!

Author's Response: You have to be the most loyal reader ever.
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
12 Mar 2008 5:46 pm
Yeah another chapter and I'm surprised, happily so, that things went well for Rodney and John. Nice to see Ford being a friend too. Since you warned us thing will be going south soon, I'm bracing myself, but it's still nice to see John/Rodney happy. Thanks for the quick update, keep those chapters coming.

Author's Response: As always, I appreciate your reviews soo much! I keep trying to make this an angst fic, but somehow John and Rodney keep caring about each other. Thanks so much for your comments!
Sucking up to the Boss
Reviewer: Akuma (Anonymous)
12 Mar 2008 1:49 am
Great! turning out well... still got my fingers crossed that John will turn around & things'll get better for him & Rodney. (sorry, still not all about McBrown...)

Author's Response: Happy dance! Thanks for giving me my 70th review. I'm vein and need my complements. The muse is just a whore for reviews. This fic is a rollercoaster and it will get much better for Rodney and John while it gets worst for Rodney and Katie. Hope you enjoy watching their marrige crumble at least. But then the fic will get worse, and it will end up dark and scarey for everybody. I might start slaughtering small pink bunnies to prepare for the carnage.
Heightmeyer
Reviewer: Mckaysgenius (Anonymous)
10 Mar 2008 8:54 pm
Oh what a good chapter. I liked seeing Katie and Rodney talking to Kate. It opened a different realm you had not explored before. Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Really? I hated it. I would have tossed it, but the muse wrote it, and I didn't want anything to go to waste. If it were up to me, it would be all porn all the time. I think I was just writing to keep the pen moving, and a chapter about feelings came out. Glad you enjoyed it, though! So glad I'm still keeping folks entertained after 40,000 words. That is a feat! Thank you, McKaysgenius for the lovely comments!
Heightmeyer
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
10 Mar 2008 7:46 pm
Wow. Ok, I can't wait for more. :3

Author's Response: No soup for you!
Heightmeyer
Reviewer: Raven (Signed)
10 Mar 2008 7:41 pm
this chapter just about broke my heart.

Author's Response: awww, gives you lots of cookies. What made you sad? Hope the sex in the next chapter will make you happy again.
He Loves Me Not
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
10 Mar 2008 5:10 pm
Wow, things in the world must be pretty bad all around outside of the US, for Katie and Rodney to want to 'cope' with this situation. I also think to some degree Becket and others are in on it, as I could never see Carson under normal circumstances telling Rodney that...so you might want to clairfy how bad things are for everyone but Americans. I also wonder just how much Katie loves Rodney...I mean personaly, I rather be poor then let my husband go through that, even with kids and I speak as a parent...but that's me. It's a very intense and emotional story, thus well written, but I can sense there is a lot more going on w/ those not being abused that Rodney knows, pluse Rodney has got to know whatever he tells heightemneyer she's telling John as he knows she works for the facility and morals don't exist there. Thanks for a fast update, I look forward to more.

Author's Response: I have taken your comment on showing how bad it is for non-Americans into consideration, and I promise to show more plot in that department. I am interested to see suspicion cast on Beckett as Rodney does not know for sure who to trust if anyone. We all know that Katie and Rodney never end up together on the show, so clearly they are not exactly meant for each other, and for the moment, I think she is only seeing Rodney's pains as a meal ticket. More will come on her soon. I am so happy to hear that you sense more going on behind the scenes with the other Americans than Rodney is seeing. I have not written that explicitly, but it is so cool that those facts came through in the writing. Again, thank you so much for the detailed review. I'm so glad that you are enjoying it!
Heightmeyer
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
08 Mar 2008 2:34 pm
Wow another amazing chapter - so glad to see an update and can't wait to see what's next!

Author's Response: Thanks for sticking around to read! I really appriciate the review!
He Loves Me Not
Reviewer: Mckaysgenius (Anonymous)
06 Mar 2008 9:11 pm
I am glad you did not abandon this story. I am so curious to see where this story will end up. While I love McShep, you have made this paring so unusual. Keep writing.

Author's Response: I have abandoned this story. About twenty times over. Interesting that another reader found this evil!John poor!Rodney pairing a bit overdone. All I know is that I write what I want to read. Situations in fics I've come across in the past. I fully admit that I have stolen more than one theme from old 'Enterprise' fics written by some of the greatest angst fic writers of our time. I can only hope to emmulate the same emotions they produced in their fics. Thank you for staying tuned, and thank you a thousand times for the beautiful comments!
He Loves Me Not
Reviewer: snarkysci (Signed)
06 Mar 2008 5:33 pm
I am so happy you updated! I like that you had Rodney tell Katie and that you had him stand up to John. However, I don't think John will be happy that Rodney hung up on him...I can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Again, I'm so amazed that people remember this fic. The last chater was a bit of plot that needed to be written to continue the story, and the next chapter, hopefully, but be lots of kinky fun. I do appologize for writing so much for the kids. I guess I was thinking that I needed that element to make Rodney's reasons for sleeping with John really sharp. Thanks for keeping an eye out for me. Hope to hear more from you as I update. Whenever that is :D!

Author's Response: Again, I'm so amazed that people remember this fic. The last chater was a bit of plot that needed to be written to continue the story, and the next chapter, hopefully, but be lots of kinky fun. I do appologize for writing so much for the kids. I guess I was thinking that I needed that element to make Rodney's reasons for sleeping with John really sharp. Thanks for keeping an eye out for me. Hope to hear more from you as I update. Whenever that is :D!
He Loves Me Not
Reviewer: Mystic (Signed)
06 Mar 2008 2:53 pm
I'm glad Rodney was finaly able to tell Katie and sad to hear how things ended for the others. I also fear for Rodney for Sheppard is probably going to be furious with being hung up on. I wish Rodney got his hands on that sarcophagus and either destory it or fix it so it wasn't addictive anymore. Somehow I want to see a happy ending, but it's going to be difficult.

Yes, I want to see more of this story, so please keep those chapters coming.

Author's Response: Chapters are coming slowly. Sorry, no happy endings planned. Right now, things are getting better, but soon they will become the worst you could possibly imagine. Sorry. I guess enjoy it while the getting is good ;). So glad that you took the time to review, and thanks for being a loyal reader!
He Loves Me Not
Reviewer: Anonymous (Anonymous)
08 Feb 2008 4:07 pm
This story is so messed up, and I'm honestly amazed I've read it all. Twisted, yet you somehow kept my attention. Now you simply must finish, because you've lured me in and I need closure, dammit! :p

Author's Response: I know it starts really slow and that is my fault because I was so worried about taking the plung into a slash scene. I don't have that fear anymore :D. I am very happy to hear that I have kept your attention through the whole long thing because I, myself, grow so weary of overly-long fics no matter how good they are. Closure? Rodney dies a terrible, painful death, screaming John's name. How's that? ------> Or does he?
Chapter 19
You must login (register) to review.