RSS
Reviews For A Female Thing

You must login (register) to review.

Reviewer: mirror_mirrin (Signed)
04 Jul 2010 4:37 am
So I don't usually read het, but I really enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing!
Having It All
Reviewer: Space1Traveler (Anonymous)
05 Mar 2009 4:09 am
Lovely, simply, lovely! Oh, an amazing too. I love how John loves Rodney and Rodney loves him right back. Thanky you.

Author's Response: Thanks for the comment! Glad you liked it. It just kind of came out of me and ended up in the computer. Thank you for taking the time to let me know you liked it!!
Having It All
Reviewer: Space1Traveler (Anonymous)
05 Mar 2009 2:19 am
Humor! Hot! Guh! Thud! PERFECTION!
Finding Oneself Within
Reviewer: deliciouslyweird (Signed)
14 Sep 2008 2:18 pm
Really wonderful. I don't usualy care all that much for gender change stories. This one was well done.

Author's Response: Thanks! I actually wanted to write one that had everything I would like to read in a gender switch story, that was also hopefully a bit realistic. I think it worked. I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Having It All
Reviewer: Kateri (Signed)
11 Jun 2008 1:20 pm
Great story

Author's Response: Thanks!
Having It All
Reviewer: Sam_Carter_McKay@yahoo.com (Anonymous)
10 Nov 2007 6:43 am
ZI'm not always a slash fan, and this was so well written. It's a favorite now. I wish you had more stargate fanfics. I'd love to read more of your work. Do you have a website ?

Sam Carter-McKay aka The Klingon Mistress

Author's Response: Thanks for the praise! I also wish I had more Stargate fanfics, but the muse doesn't strike that often, darn it. No, unfortunately I don't have a website. I had one but when I switched accounts it got deleted. I suppose I could post all my old Due South stories to my livejournal but I'm a bit lazy!
Finding Oneself Within
Reviewer: Dopeydora (Signed)
20 Feb 2007 10:23 am
I don't usually read this kind of fic; genderswap is not really my thing, however Xanthe, rec'd this, and I am so glad she did. It was very well done and believable. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks! I worked hard on making it believable and realistic and it seems to have worked. Glad you liked it.
Finding Oneself Within
Reviewer: Netsta (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2007 7:40 am
I've thought about how to write this review, because as I was reading your story I realised it deserved a review. I've read good and bad fiction, good and bad reality all my life, and I feel quite confronted with slash....sorry it just didn't make me feel comfortable. Ok, your story intrigued me so I read it, the more I read the more I wanted to read. It was technically very very very good so what was left was for me to deal with the emotional content. I don't think I will ever read slash again and feel uncomfortable. Thank you for expanding me, thank you for your amazing ability as an author and thank you for giving me what I will always remember as a pivotal point in my emotional maturing. You are an amazing writer.

Author's Response: Thanks for the compliments about my writing abilities. That really means a lot. But some people just don't like slash, and that's fine. I'm glad you read it anyway. :)
Having It All
Reviewer: Xanthe (Anonymous)
20 Feb 2007 5:58 am
That was lovely - thank you! I really enjoy genderswap stories and this was beautifully done, very believeable.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I also like genderswap stories and until I wrote this one I had no idea that others had done it in Atlantis fandom! I then went and read a whole bunch! I'm so glad you found the story believable - I worked really hard on that aspect!
Finding Oneself Within
Reviewer: velocitygrass (Signed)
19 Feb 2007 11:15 am
This was really lovely. The hot sex, the love between them, but also the insecurities that made it so very real. And the lovely little touches like Ronon loving to babysit or how of course the guy marrying them would think John is Meredith and Rodney John... I really enjoyed this a lot. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thanks so much! I wanted to make it as realistic as possible within the constraints of sci-fi, and it seems like it worked. I'm so glad you enjoyed it!
Having It All
Reviewer: anonymous (Anonymous)
13 Feb 2007 3:53 pm
I red your first part a while ago and I loved it . It was so well written how John learnd to accept that his body was different and Rodneys help .It was a beautiful storie(I know *beautiful* is not the normal description for a storie , but I think it totally fits ) but much too short *lol* And today I just found out there is a sequel *squeeeee* I LOVE IT *g* And again you got everything right... It was so cute to see Ronon with the little girl ... With your infectious writing I would surely like every pairing , but I really liked it that Sheppard is the *mommy* and trys bottoming at the end ... *hides bevor Sheppard starts hunting her down* *eg*

Author's Response: Thanks so much - especially for calling my writing "infectious"! I'm so glad to hear that, that people find it easy to read! I thought maybe I would write a sequel to the sequel where Rodney had problems with bottoming, but so far inspiration hasn't struck. Plus, I think Rodney would be fine!!
Having It All
Reviewer: Aza (Anonymous)
05 Feb 2007 6:45 pm
That was fantastic! for once sheppard got womanized and preggers. btw loved all the mentions of south africa as am south african (afrikaans! lol) really really great. aza

Author's Response: Glad you liked it. Do you also (being South African) worship at Baal's feet? Hehe.
Having It All
Reviewer: adafrog (Anonymous)
04 Feb 2007 9:46 pm
Awesome story. I usually hate gender!fuck, but this was well done. Thanks.

Author's Response: Thanks! For me the challenge was to make it as believable as possible, and as scientifically accurate as the Stargate universe would allow. Those ancients sure did leave a lot of dangerous stuff lying around!!
Having It All
Reviewer: Lasha (Anonymous)
15 Jan 2007 11:41 am
I really loved how you showed John's indecision about the baby and Rodney's believe that they could be a family that finally won John over. Truly a wonderful story. It shows that love doesn't worry about gender.

Author's Response: Thanks! I tried hard to get all the nuances in, and I think it worked. Thanks for letting me know!
Having It All
Reviewer: monanotlisa (Signed)
05 Jan 2007 6:05 pm
Wow -- who are you, and why have I never heard of you before? This is a gorgeous story, and one that I've been looking for all along: solid character dynamics, a Sheppard who accepts if not without minor freak-outs, hot sex, and a supporting cast that, well, is supporting and well-drawn. Thank you so much for this.

I've compiled a list of SGA Genderswitch stories; maybe you'd like to take a look? I will recommend this your story there:

http://monanotlisa.livejournal.com/356585.html#cutid1

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! I've written lots of slash, but mainly in Due South fandom, although I have a few Smallville and Sentinel stories to my credit as well. Thanks for the URL - I'll definitely check out your page! I'm glad you liked the story!
Finding Oneself Within
Reviewer: Jillian (Anonymous)
02 Jan 2007 4:39 am
I can't believe I'm just finding out about this sequel. I've been waiting for more in this universe since you posted and then I missed the sequel by more than two weeks. This was wonderful. It was everything I secretly wanted in the sequel - Rodney and John surviving John changing back and a pregnancy/baby. It was better than I envisioned and I loved it. Thanks for writing it :)

Author's Response: Thanks so much - it really makes me enthusiastic when I find that people have enjoyed what I've written - and not only that, but *waited* for it! Wow!
Having It All
Reviewer: Laura_trekkie (Signed)
17 Dec 2006 7:45 pm
Ok, the short version of fb is: OMG WOW!!! The (possibly too) long version is: Wonderful, wonderful story. The plot was very nicely paced with well balanced high and low points. I loved all the characterisations; Elizabeth and Jack backing them, Landry and Caldwell being more the US military men, Ronon being so taken with Erin and looking after her so gently, Carson being so worried and, later, so embarrassed, Teyla being simply Teyla :). Of course, the main focus was John and Rodney, and I think you did a truly excellent job with their relationship. They went through all the 'normal' ups and downs: John's fear when he found out he was pregnant, his freak out and *need* to have the baby gone right now!, his plan to run to Earth (and yay Carson for being worried enough that he went to Rodney even without knowing their circumstances). I was glad that Rodney convinced John to have the baby and I loved that they got married and John was settled enough in his female body that he wanted a dress for the occasion. The cameos from SG-1 were fun, but the feared miscarriage was scary and it was such a relief to find out that the baby was still there, even if John was confined to bedrest. I loved their friends making the trip and Rodney telling them the full situation. The military stance was bound to rear its ugly head, so I was glad that they at least had to go to John's home turf to talk to him about things. I felt their joy (and occasional freak outs) at all the little stages such as John starting to show and the baby moving. The birth though, twenty nine hours! *So* not encouraging me to ever spawn any kids myself! As I said, I felt you did a good job with the whole process, it felt very realistic, but I loved that extra edge, that spectre of John's true body hanging over proceedings. I could totally understand his drive to return to normal. As Elizabeth said, no matter how long he lived as a woman, how well he adapted, he'd never truly *be* a woman and that would always be there on the edge of his conciousness. My heart ached for them as the time drew near for John to change back. I wanted to be angry with Rodney for shutting John out, refusing to have sex, hell, even refusing to just be close. I wanted to be angry for him not taking into account John's *need* to be who he really was, for not believing that John's feelings were real, despite what shape his body was. But that anger was tempered by seeing how afraid Rodney was, how certain he was that his world was about to come crashing down around him. I was so glad that Rodney was there when John finally got his body back. It filled me with hope, but that hope took a bit of a beating when Rodney was still distant with John, tense about them sharing a bed, nevermind anything else. So you can imagine how happy I was to see John gradually getting through Rodney's barriers and finiding that some of the problem was simply down to Rodney's inexperience. The sex scenes throughout were hot, but that final, not quite perfect, perfect sex was my favourite. Finally they had shared the most intimate act in the bodies they were (pressumably) going to have for the rest of their lives and it was great, that final connection, the final obstacle hurdled (for now anyway, more are always waiting just round the corner, but they were well and truly together, so they'd get over the next one and the next). So yes, wonderful story and I've probably forgotten all sorts of comment I wanted to make, but... Laura.

Author's Response: Wow! Thanks SO very much for the in-depth feedback! I think this is my favourite story of all the 100+ stories I've written in various fandoms (it's also the longest by far). I worked really hard on it and I'm so thrilled that you not only liked it but knew what I was getting at every step of the way! Thank you so much!!!
Having It All
Reviewer: Mystic (Anonymous)
15 Dec 2006 3:38 am
Hip, Hip Hurray, there is more! Loved it, loved it, and did I mention I loved it? The scene w/ the names before the minister...ROFL! Loved the little surprise and loved it all, Thank you so much for doing this sequel!

Author's Response: I'm so happy you loved it! I normally don't do sequels, but the characters wouldn't shut up in my head, and when I sat down to write, the story just came out! Thanks so much for your enthusiastic feedback!!
Having It All
Reviewer: A Cat Called McKay (Anonymous)
14 Dec 2006 9:21 pm
such a great fic was shocked to realise I didnt leave feedback for the first chapter when I read it I always try to leave feedback for fics I love and I loved yours and so glad you added a 2nd chapter. You did scare me when I thouht john was going to loose the baby but it was a happy endding yay.

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving some this time!! I had a hard time deciding whether or not the baby should live, but I figured it would be a cop-out if she didn't. I'm so glad you liked it!
Having It All
Reviewer: BC (Anonymous)
14 Dec 2006 8:02 pm
That was great. Love that they had a little girl. :) *L* Right on on telling the military to bite them. Rodney and John sorting through thier problems together and making a lovely little family.

Author's Response: Thanks. I wanted to have some angst, but not so much that the readers would get depressed! So it seems I managed that. Thanks for letting me know!
Having It All
You must login (register) to review.